Official Website of Greater Kuala Lumpur / Klang Valley
Ministry of Federal Territories
B.Malaysia   |   English
  Greater KL/KV comprises
10 local authorities

The Greater Kuala Lumpur/Klang Valley (GKL/KV) National Key Economic Area (NKEA) is one of the 12 NKEAs under the Economic Transformation Programme.  The goal of this NKEA is to transform Greater Kuala Lumpur/Klang Valley into the top-20 most livable metropolis globally and top-20 in terms of economic growth. Greater KL/KV comprises the area under the administration of ten local authorities.  

To achieve these goals, a two-month lab for GKL/KV identified nine Entry Point Projects and three Business Opportunities to catalyse efforts towards achieving the GKL/KV goals. These are organized along four dimensions: GKL/KV as a Magnet, Connect GKL/KV, GKL/KV New Places, and GKL/KV Enhanced Services. Greater KL/KV is also seen as a driver of growth for the remaining 11 NKEAs sectors. 

The Minister of Federal Territories and Urban Well-being is the Lead Minister for the GKL/KV.  A Greater Kuala Lumpur/Klang Valley Steering Committee was established in October 2010 under his chairmanship to provide guidance and set strategic directions to ensure the success and effectiveness of the implementation of the nine Greater KL/KV Entry Point Projects (EPP) and the three Business Opportunities.  The Steering Committee Members comprised distinguished personalities from both the government and the private sector.

  Greater KL/KV is composed of 10 local
2010 population (5.7 mln)
'000 pax
Kuala Lumpur
MP Klang
MP Kajang
MP Subang Jaya
MP Petaling Jaya
MP Selayang
MP Shah Alam
MP Ampang Jaya
MP Sepang



Greater KL/KV extends beyond the boundaries of Kuala Lumpur. It is defined as the area covered by 10 municipalities, each governed by local authorities: Dewan Bandaraya Kuala Lumpur (DBKL), Perbadanan Putrajaya, MB Shah Alam (MBSA), MB Petaling Jaya (MBPJ), MP Klang (MPK), MP Kajang, MP Subang Jaya (MPSJ), MP Selayang, MP Ampang Jaya (MPAJ) and MP Sepang. This Greater KL/KV metropolitan area is smaller than that of the Kuala Lumpur National Conurbation as defined under the latest review of the National Physical Plan. It focuses on the highest density economic agglomerations within the conurbation, including important sites such as the Kuala Lumpur International Airport. In 2010, the population of Greater KL/KV is approximately 6 million, and it contributes about RM263 billion to the nation’s GNI. This translates to 20 percent of the national population contributing 30 percent of the nation’s GNI, proving that Greater KL/KV is indeed the engine of the nation’s economic growth and hence designated as a NKEA.